A few of the drawbacks

Although I don’t think I’ll ever have reason to regret making the move from my previous operating systems (I include Mac OS, too, because I used an early-generation iMac for years before I traded it for my iBook, and thought I’d never use anything but Macs), there have been some significant stumbling blocks. One reason, I think, may be that I resist the temptation to use all the patches to Linux that make it possible to use the authentic windows programs. I don’t know if doing that would solve all of my incompatibility issues, anyway.

For starters, I only recently got a Blackberry phone, but I can’t use the software that came with it on the CD because my computer won’t open any of the files on it. I have looked on the Blackberry website to see if they have a download for Linux users. Nada. Same story with my new camera. At this point it is fortunate that my brother has a computer with windows on it so that I can download my photos onto a flash drive and then put them on my computer.

And my iPod Nano is in a holding pattern. I can’t add any new music or photos, and I can only recharge it from my old iBook. I can’t update the iBook to a MacOs more recent than Leopard, which means I can’t add iTunes 8 or later, which I would need to sync my Nano. And I can’t find a Linux app that will sync it, either, without having to know a lot more than I do about using the command line. All I can hope for is that future updates will include those patches. It has happened with other programs I thought I was going to have to do without. I started out my Linux life unable to watch video clips. I couldn’t watch the YouTube clips of puppies on the “I Has a Hotdog” site, or TED videos, or the replays of NCIS episodes if I had to work on Tuesday night and missed one. Then a few updates later, I was able to install the Flash player for Linux and was back in mindless-video-viewing business. And I have to say that, at least as regards watching NCIS replays, this player is better than the one I was using on the windows version… running away better.

So I’m hoping that a future update will include the features that I need for all my electronic toys. In the meantime I keep telling myself that things could be a lot worse. I could still be using the old windows xp that wouldn’t let me have more than one window open at a time without freezing up and requiring me to reboot the whole thing. That shit just doesn’t happen anymore. FTW.

Leave a Reply

